Concealed Pistol License
Published in accordance with MCL 28.425 January 4, 2016
Obtaining an Application
An applicant must take a state required training and obtain a CPL application at the County Clerk's office or at the Michigan State Police website.
Applicant must file their application in the County where they reside. Muskegon County residents must apply at the Muskegon County Clerk's office. Office hours are: Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
At the time of application you will need: A certificate from your training class. The certificate must include State required language. A current picture identification: A Michigan Driver's License or State Identification. An application fee of $100 for new applicants and $115 for renewal applicants. You may pay the application fee in the form of cash, check, credit or debit card. (The Clerk's Office will accept Visa or MasterCard with a processing fee.) The $15 fee for fingerprints is paid directly to the entity that processes your fingerprints.
Once you have completed the application, do not sign until requested to do so. County Clerk Staff must issue an oath prior to obtaining your signature. The clerk will enter your information into the MSP website and submit for approval. We will be using your Secretary of State picture on your new CPL. You do not need a passport photo unless you are in the military and have an out of state driver's license or State ID.
You will be provided with a receipt to take with you to be fingerprinted. As a new applicant you will always be required to have your prints taken, even if you have had prints done for another reason. When applying for a renewal you may be asked to be fingerprinted again.
To find a CPL class in your area, check the phone book or google CPL Training in Muskegon or Gun Clubs in Muskegon.
Pistol Safety Training Course
The pistol safety training course required under Michigan law must be a program certified by this state or a national or state firearms training organization and provide at least eight hours of instruction. The program shall provide at least three hours of instruction on a firing range and require firing at least 30 rounds of ammunition. Additionally, the program shall provide five hours of instruction in, but is not limited to providing instruction in, all of the following:
- The safe storage, use, and handling of a pistol including, but not limited to, safe storage, use and handling to protect child safety.
- Ammunition knowledge and the fundamentals of pistol shooting.
- Firearms and the law, including civil liability issues and the use of deadly force. This portion shall be taught by an attorney or a person trained in the use of deadly force.
- Avoiding criminal attack and controlling a violent confrontation.
- All laws that apply to carrying a concealed pistol in Michigan.
The instructor shall be certified by this state or a national organization to teach the eight-hour pistol safety training course required by Michigan law. The instructor must provide a certificate of completion containing the printed name and signature of the course instructor to the applicant. The certificate of completion shall state that the individual successfully completed the course, and contain the statement: "This course complies with section 5j of 1927 PA 372."
The certificate must also contain, on its face or by attachment, the instructor's telephone number and the name and telephone number of the state agency or the state or national firearm training organization that has certified the individual as an instructor, his or her instructor certification number, and the expiration date of that certificate.