Law Enforcement

The prosecutor's office is proud to stand with the brave men and women who risk their lives on a daily basis in order to make our county secure.

Area police agencies are committed to providing our community with safe streets and successful prosecutions. From uniformed patrol officers to narcotics investigators to bureau detectives, Muskegon County is protected twenty-four hours a day by hard-working, street savvy law enforcement officers.

Training & Equipment

Each department has dedicated and dynamic leaders employing the most recent training techniques and state of the art equipment to ensure that our citizens are among the best protected in the state.

Law Enforcement Memorial

COPS Board

The Muskegon County COPS Board consists of law enforcement leaders from each police department, and including Prosecutor Hilson on the COPS Board helps to bring a coordinated approach to law enforcement. Through the hard work of the COPS Board, Muskegon County now has a uniform computer reporting system that works for the police on the street and against the criminal.

Making a Difference

Strong law enforcement has made a difference in Muskegon County. The efforts of those who serve in law enforcement have made our community a better place to live.

County Law Enforcement Addresses & Phone Numbers

Fruitport Township Police Department

Director of Public Safety: Brian Michelli
Address: 6543 Airline Highway
Phone Number: 231-865-8477

Michigan State Police Post Number 61

Post Commander: F/Lt. Chris McIntire
Address: 345 Northland Drive, NE - Rockford
Phone Number: 616-842-2100

Montague Police Department

Police Chief: Robert J. Rought
Address: 8778 Ferry Street
Phone Number: 231-893-0810

Muskegon Township Police Department

Police Chief: Tim Thielbar
Address: 1990 E Apple Avenue
Phone Number: 231-777-1666

Norton Shores Police Department

Police Chief: Jon Gale
Address: 4814 Henry
Phone Number: 231-733-2691
Norton Shores Website

Whitehall Police Department

Chief: Roger D. Squiers
Address: 405 E Colby
Phone Number: 231-894-2317

Muskegon County Sheriff's Office

Sheriff: Michael Poulin
Address: 25 W Walton Avenue
Phone Number: 231-724-6351
Sheriff Department Website

Muskegon Heights Police Department

Police Chief: Maurice Sain
Address: 2715 Baker Street
Phone Number: 231-733-8900

Muskegon Police Department

Director of Public Safety: 
Address: 980 Jefferson
Phone Number: 231-724-6750
Muskegon Police Website

North Muskegon Police Department

Police Chief: Edward Viverette
Address: 1114 Ruddiman
Phone Number: 231-744-4313
Police Department Website

Roosevelt Park Police Department

Police Chief: David Boone
Address: 900 Oakridge Road
Phone Number: 231-755-3721
Roosevelt Park Police Department Website