Becoming a Notary in Michigan
The Notary Laws changed as of April 1, 2004.
As a result of this new law, the application process has been streamlined, the length of the commission has been extended, and numerous other significant changes. The fee structure has been revised for the first time since 1971.
If your notary commission is active, you are not required to reapply until your current commission is about to expire. However, beginning April 1, 2004, you must adhere to all the new laws including those regarding fees, restrictions and liability. To learn more about these changes visit the Secretary of State web site at www.michigan.gov/sos
Listed below is a brief comparison of the previous and new requirements.
You must still apply in the County in which you reside. Purchase your bond from your insurance or surety company. Wait to sign the bond until clerk staff have checked your ID and issued your oath. Clerk staff must complete the top portion of the Notary Application before you can mail the application with the $10 fee to the State of Michigan. The Clerk’s office will keep your bond and collect their $10 fee at the time your oath is issued. When you receive your commission certificate in the mail from the Secretary of State, Office of the Great Seal, you are an official Notary.
If you have additional questions, feel free to call the Muskegon County Clerk’s office at (231) 724-6221.