Following is information concerning application for a Marriage License.
Men and women 18 years of age and older may contract marriage in the State of Michigan without parent's consent. Men and women who are 16 or 17 must have the written consent of one parent or legal guardian who must also appear at the time of application. One party must be a resident of Muskegon County (applying party must be Muskegon County resident) or both must be from out of state.
You may apply for your license between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. on weekdays at the County Clerk's office, located in the Michael E. Kobza Hall of Justice at 990 Terrace Street, 1st floor. One or both applicants may appear and present all the following:
1. A certified copy of each applicant's birth certificate. If birth certificates are not available, a valid drivers license or state ID can be used with the following information: City & State of birth of the applicant, father's full name (first, middle and last), mother's full maiden name, the birthplace of each parent (City & State). The bride's and the groom's social security numbers are also required.
2. In state residents pay a fee of $20.00, in cash or check made payable to the County Clerk. Out of state residents pay a fee of $30.00.
There is a three day waiting period. For example, apply on Monday, pick up the license on Thursday. The license is valid for 30 days. Licenses that become valid on Saturday, Sunday or a legal holiday may be picked up on the Friday before the weekend or the day before the holiday. For additional information call 724-6324.
Click here to fill out the online Affidavit For License to Marry.
Click the link below to review an excerpt of certain Michigan Marriage Laws.
Marriage Laws excerpt